‘Cause I felt like it: Pumpkin cupcakes and banana chocolate chip cookies

Yesterday, I decided to bake something, because…

I had two really ripe bananas

I had pumpkin puree that I needed to use (before it went bad)

There were no sweets in the house

I hadn’t baked in a while

Everyone was out or sleeping

I was feeling kinda down and/or blah

…And I felt like baking (and I enjoy it).

So, I looked through my recipe cards to try to find something easy, good and that had ingredients I had on hand. Sifting through pumpkin bread, pumpkin spice cake, pumpkin this and that, I set on pumpkin cupcakes by Laura in the Kitchen. I couldn’t remember if I made them before or even how I stumbled upon the recipe, but I decided to go for it.I made the following changes:

  • Reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. My mother told me once that usually the sugar to flour ratio is 1:2 and since this recipe only called for 1 cup of flour, I felt like 1 cup of sugar would be way too sweet.
  • Used Ener-G egg replace instead of eggs, because I really feel like it’s a waste of eggs to make cupcakes with them (see previous post about my love for baking vegan)
  • Added cinnamon instead of pumpkin pie spice, because I didn’t have any of the latter
  • Used white whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour

Result:

IMG_20121218_231437

I found them to be VERY moist and thought they tasted pretty good, although my anti-vegan brother said they were “OK”.

I also made the previously made dairy free chocolate chip cookies from about.com, but with banana puree as they suggest for a possible substitute. I also used 3/4 cup of organic cane sugar plus 1/4 cup of molasses, because brown sugar is just cane sugar with molasses.  For the flour I used a mix of white whole wheat flour and whole wheat pastry flour:

IMG_20121218_231743

They turned out very similar to the banana chocolate chop “scones” I made for the tea party – cake like cookies. I baked them for 9 minutes, but that was not enough time and they were still quite doughy. In fact, I had to reheat the oven and rebake them at least two more times at 2 minutes each. I also baked a smaller batch for about 11 minutes, which seems to be the perfect time.  I saved the rest of the “dough” in the fridge. That’s one great thing about cookie dough – you can save it for later. 🙂

So, yeah, I had another dessert baking and movie watching “hang-in”, but this time just with myself. And it was still fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

