‘Tis the season for pumpkin!

Even though we already had one snow storm and a mini-snow fall, it’s still actually fall, which is pumpkin season.  Having so much pumpkin puree in the freezer that I need to use, I decided to “celebrate” this season by baking some pumpkin goodies.

Two weeks ago I hung out with my friend Mona; while she made lunch, I made cookies.  I had brought a bunch of pumpkin recipes on cards and we decided on Pumpkin oatmeal cookies.  These cookies are not only vegan, but also gluten-free because they are made with oats and oat flour.  People with mild-moderate wheat sensitivities could eat them, but people with celiac could not.  This is due to the fact that there is a lot of cross contamination of wheat in oats.  The rolled oats I used were from Trader Joe’s and certified gluten-free. The oat flour, however. was made using my friend’s Vita-Mix from steel cut oats I had bought from a bulk food store.

As I mentioned in my post about why I love baking Vegan, Mona enjoyed eating the raw cookie dough because it was egg-free. We both also enjoyed them cooked while watching one of my favorite movies “He’s Just Not That Into You”. Oh, and I also added mini chocolate chunks (made from Trader Joe’s Pound Plus), which the recipe does not call for but which my friend Mona whole-heartedly OK’d. This recipe made a lot of cookies!

And of course, nothing says pumpkin like pumpkin pie.  I used Chocolate covered Katie’s Crustless Pumpkin Pie, but used a chocolate cookie crust that I had in the freezer (by Wholly Wholesome).  It came out quite beautifully (and tasty)!

Leave a Reply

