Preparing for Hurricane Sandy

Sunday morning I was asked by my mother to go get some last minute needed items for the impending “superstorm” Sandy that was heading for us.  One of the items she asked me to get was bread, especially for my younger brother to make his sandwiches for work (which he tried to tell her he wasn’t going to be able to go to at least Monday and Tuesday).  I told her I would make some bread, which was something I used to do a lot and had been wanting to do again for some time.

So, that evening I set out to make “tender wheat bread” from “Four Seasons with the bread machine baker” and then Irish soda bread, from :The Bread Machine baker”,  by Elizabeth M. Harbison.  These book, with a bread machine and many other bread making books, were gifted to me by my good friend Anne.  I hadn’t made bread (except in Home Ec) before getting her bread machine, so it was an experiment, but a very fruitful one that gave me much joy.

The “Tender Wheat” bread was appropriately in the “autumn” category, so it fit both as a sandwich bread and as a seasonal bread.  I don’t usually bake breads in the bread machine, I only use it to make the dough. Then I take it out, knead it, let it rise and bake it in a loaf pan (or shape it into a certain shape).  This is how it looked after baking. Isn’t it BEAUTIFUL???

My father, who had just had eye surgery on Friday, loves Irish soda bread, so I thought it would be a good bread to make.  I only got a picture of it (Thanks Noor!) as it was rising, not after it baked.

I actually think I didn’t let it rise enough, because when I slashed it on top (as I did with the tender wheat bread), it deflated a bit. I hoped it would rise back when in the oven, which it did, but not enough to make it as “fluffy” as the tender wheat. In fact, it was a lot denser. But, it still tasted pretty good.

The tender wheat was finished today and the Irish soda bread only has a little bit left. Today I am making Pumpkin cranberry bread and hopefully a dark pumpernickel bread. One sweet and one savory, both autumnal breads. Stay tuned!

(Both breads were made using whole wheat flour (bread and regular).

Leave a Reply

